Buy Now What is VEPT? The Science of VEPT What Do I Get? Why Add VEPT to My Training? Athletes Talk About VEPT Pro Athletes Universities and Colleges School and Community Teams What Parents Want to Know
Training Near You International Access Product Support and Training FAQs Become a Reseller

Vision Performance Training for Professional Athletes


Description

Many pro sports teams use Vizual Edge as a part of their player development programs. Greg Riddoch was the Manager of the San Diego Padres and worked in the Milwaukee Brewers organization. Take a look at what Greg has to say about Vizual Edge.

"Hi, I am Greg Riddoch.

Being a proactive thinker and teacher, I always knew vision was an important component of performance in the classroom and on field. While instructing my baseball and softball student athletes I did not know how to address this component of the game until I found Vizual Edge.

In the past, when I was the Manager of the San Diego Padres this technology was not available. Vizual Edge would have been an essential tool as part of our complete training program.

While I was with the Milwaukee Brewers, the team incorporated Vizual Edge as part of the player development and scouting programs. It definitely gave us a competitive edge over our competition.

I use the Vizual Edge software to illustrate visual strengths and weakness to parents and athletes as part of my hitting instruction. You can spend hundreds of dollars on equipment but unless you can see the ball and react to it properly, that bat or glove is not going to help you perform better."

Sports Vision Performance Testimonials

It has become a regular part of my training routine and I believe it gives me a mental edge over the

Vince India, Pro Golfer

Vince India
Pro Golfer

alt : Vince India Pro Golfer

My name is Vince India. I'm a professional golfer playing on the Latin American PGA tour and I've been using Vizual Edge for just under a year. Golf is such a visually oriented sport. Most of the game is centered around perception of your targets in space, yet visual improvement training is overlooked. Training with Vizual Edge has helped with my alignment of targets and my depth perception, especially around the greens. It has become a regular part of my training routine and I believe it gives me a mental edge over the competition.

Vince India
Pro Golfer


To keep my eyes up to the speed of the game, I use the Vizual Edge Training Program.

Chad Tracy, Third Baseman for the Washington Nationals

Chad Tracy
Third Baseman for the Washington Nationals

alt : Chad Tracy Third Baseman for the Washington Nationals

I'm Chad Tracy of the Washington Nationals Baseball Team. I have used the Vizual Edge training program for several years now. As any professional player knows the most important aspect of being a successful hitter is seeing live pitching everyday. For the last few years the majority of my at-bats have come as a pinch hitter, so to keep my eyes up to the speed of the game I use the Vizual Edge Training Program. I feel that I see the ball much better when consistently using these training tools. I would recommend the Vizual Edge training program to any athlete who wants an extra edge in their game.

Chad Tracy
Third Baseman for the Washington Nationals


Chase Headley, San Diego Padres

Chase Headley, third basemen of the San Diego Padres

Chase Headley
third basemen of the San Diego Padres

alt : Chase Headley third basemen of the San Diego Padres

Hi,

I'm Chase Headley, third basemen of the San Diego Padres. One of the most important, yet over looked aspects in baseball is vision. I was introduced to the Vizual Edge program while attending the University of TN over six years ago. I was surprised to learn that although i I have better than 20/20 vision there are other important aspects of sight that I needed to and could ultimately improve on.

Vizual Edge is a one of a kind program that focuses on tracking, sight recognition, quick decision making and other important visual skills vital to success in baseball and other sports. I highly recommend the program to players of all ability levels that are looking to take their game to the next level.

Chase Headley
third basemen of the San Diego Padres


Adam Rosales, Oakland A’s

Adam Rosales, Third Baseman, <br /> Cincinnati Reds

Adam Rosales
Third Baseman,
Cincinnati Reds

alt : Adam Rosales Third Baseman,
Cincinnati Reds

Hello, my name is Adam Rosales and I play baseball for the Oakland A’s. I was drafted by the Cincinnati Reds in 2005 and was introduced to the Vizual Edge Program by our player development department that summer in Billings Montana. Over the years I have continued incorporating these crucial eye exercises into my everyday routine.

These eye exercises not only strengthen muscles in my eyes, but more importantly they enhance my level of concentration,confidence, and improve my ability to focus; not only giving me the physical edge on my game but the mental edge as well.

Vizual Edge provides many variations of exercises which replicate real game situations, where you must make quick, accurate and correct decisions. They are very simple and interactive exercises which transfer into great results.

Adam Rosales
Third Baseman,
Cincinnati Reds


Sports Vision Articles

Research has been scant on correlation between officiating and visual performance; new study shows

Why standardized vision testing, training crucial for sports officials

by: Barry L. Seiller, MD, MBA
Ophthalmology Times (4/15/2014)

Most calls by officials require correct quality of visual information. A critical call might be the difference between winning and losing for a team. Other visually based studies performed on athletes—including tennis, volleyball, and baseball—have shown that superior athletes possess superior skills. Research has shown that these visual skills, besides eyesight, can be measured and trained.

Officials have similar visual demands as athletes. Therefore, officials should have visual skills comparable to athletes. An official needs not only to be physically fit but also visually fit.

There are many examples of officiating calls that require superb visual perception:

  • Both feet or one foot inbounds?
  • Ball on one side of the goalpost or through the center?
  • Spike hit the line?
  • A 130-mph serve in or out?
  • Player offside?
  • Baseball hit the yellow wall line or not?

Read More of Why standardized vision testing, training crucial for sports officials...

Strong indication that Vizual Edge Scores correlate to superior performance, study says

The Relationship Between Visual Skills and Performance of Professional Baseball Players

by: Frank J, Spaniol, Ed.D., CSCS*D, FNSCA
Sport Science Research Laboratory, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi (11/20/2013)

The results of this study provides evidence that superior visual skills are indicative of superior batting performance in several statistical categories including BA, SO%, OBP, and OPS. Since visual skills appear to play a significant role in batting performance, coaches, trainers, and administrators should consider using programs such as VEPT to assess baseball players.

Read More of The Relationship Between Visual Skills and Performance of Professional Baseball Players...

Facilities in Europe are incorporating sports vision to help athletes enhance the visual component

Vision performance services offer new area of expansion for ophthalmic practices

by: Dr. Barry L. Seiller, MBA
Ocular Surgery News (7/29/2013)

Athletes across the globe, whether professional, amateur or recreational, are embracing new technologies and training methods to boost their performance. But while they lift weights, train in wind tunnels, adhere to strict diets and spend countless hours perfecting techniques, they often overlook one crucial body component: their eyes.

Recent studies are definitive: Athletes with superior vision skills perform better on the playing field. Until recently, however, no quantitative, interactive programs existed in the world of vision training. A U.S.-based company, Vizual Edge, is working to revolutionize the vision training game. 

Read More of Vision performance services offer new area of expansion for ophthalmic practices...

Los atletas con habilidades visuales superiores se desempeñan mejor en el campo de juego.

Potencie su práctica con la incorporación de servicios para el rendimiento

by: Dr. Barry L. Seiller, MBA
Ocular Surgery News (1/21/2013)

Varias instalaciones en América Latina están incorporando la visión deportiva para ayudar a los atletas a mejorar el componente visual en su práctica.

Read More of Potencie su práctica con la incorporación de servicios para el rendimiento ...

Instalações na América Latina estão incorporando a visão desportiva para ajudar os atletas a melhora

melhore sua prática incorporando serviços para desempenho da visão

by: Dr. Barry L. Seiller, MBA
Ocular Surgery News (1/21/2013)

Instalações na América Latina estão incorporando a visão desportiva para ajudar os atletas a melhorar o componente visual dos seus jogos.

Read More of melhore sua prática incorporando serviços para desempenho da visão...

Bachman has been training his eyes for the last six seasons

Eye-Training with Dallas Stars' Goaltender Richard Bachman

by: Kevin Woodley
InGoal Magazine (4/2/2012)

"I think it's so important. Everyone does dynamic warm ups and loosens up their muscles and for a golie it's huge to get your eyes going and involved in everything and focused and working on tracking," Bachman said. "I developed it into a routine I can rely on, so that come game day I already know exactly what I am going to do and it keeps it simple."

Read More of Eye-Training with Dallas Stars' Goaltender Richard Bachman...

Els trying vision performance training at age 42

Els eyes putting gain with vision gurus

by: Mark Lamport-Stokes
Reuters (1/26/2012)

The former world number one, who has slipped to 57th in the rankings after struggling for form for much of last year, says his putting has improved significantly since he began working with two vision specialists last week. 

However, he is delighted he decided to consult with Dr Sherylle Calder, an eye specialist who helped the Springbok, All Black and England ruby union teams enhance their eye-hand co-ordination, concentration and other visual performance skills.

Read More of Els eyes putting gain with vision gurus...

MLB Team use Vizual Edge for Player Development

Weight Training For Eyes

by: TylerJett
Baseball America (10/4/2010)

 

"The Vizual Edge program is just like a radar gun, just like a psychological background exam, just like any other tool," Greg Riddoch said. "It is·a tool that will help you get to the next level. I may have 15 more (valuable) prospects than other teams because we're using the program."

Read More of Weight Training For Eyes...

Is visual training the sports world's next big thing?

The Eyes Have It

by: Seth Stevenson
Slate inc. (9/29/2009)

Ted Williams always denied the myth that he could read the label on a spinning record, but his vision did test out at a razor-sharp 20/10 when he took his Navy physical.

Read More of The Eyes Have It ...

Learn how big league hitters fine tune their skills

Russell Branyans breakout giving Mariners a boost

by: Tim Booth
USA Today (6/22/2009)

Branyan says the catalyst for his sudden jump in hitting production is eye exercises that he started a year ago when he was searching for a solution to some of his problems at the plate.

Read More of Russell Branyans breakout giving Mariners a boost ...

Des clubs de baseball utilisent des logiciels pour améliorer la vision de leurs athlètes.

L'entrainement visuel, l'avenir du sport?

by: Seth Stevenson
Slate France (6/10/2009)

Barry Seiller (l'ophtalmologiste qui a conçu le logiciel Vizual Edge en 2002) a réalisé des analyses  et des tests d'acuité visuelle pour différentes équipes (les Houston Astros, les San Diego Padres, les Cincinnati Reds et autres Seattle Mariners, Texas Rangers,  Milwaukee Brewers ainsi que les hockeyeurs des Chicago Blackhawks); il a fait de même pour quelques programmes de sport universitaires et pour plusieurs sportifs participant aux Jeux olympiques. (Les équipes de bobsleigh développent leur capacité de convergence afin de mieux évaluer les angles d'entrée et de sortie dans les courbes de vitesse des pistes.) «Les athlètes de haut niveau jouissent d'une acuité visuelle développée», si l'on en croit Seiller. Selon lui, rien qu'en analysant les résultats obtenus par des joueurs de la Minor League sur le Vizual Edge, il a souvent pu deviner lesquels auraient les meilleurs moyennes à la batte.

Read More of L'entrainement visuel, l'avenir du sport?...

Learn the secrets of a wide receiver

The NFL`s Most Exciting Receiver

by: REED ALBERGOTTI
Wall Street Journal (1/19/2009)

As the Cardinals prepare to face Philadelphia in Sunday's NFC championship game, Mr. Fitzgerald's acrobatics are the talk of the NFL. They have also stirred up a mystery: in photographs, Mr. Fitzgerald can often be seen doing something almost unfathomable: making catches with his eyes closed. "I don't understand it myself," he says.  

Read More of The NFL`s Most Exciting Receiver ...

Eye training helps NHL Goalie seek Stanley Cup

Dwayne Roloson

by: ALLAN MAKI
Globe and Mail Newspaper (3/6/2006)

Edmonton's usually bland Roli the Goalie has been dazzling throughout the playoffs But what he is cannot be undervalued or underappreciated, because Albert Dwayne Roloson is the consummate professional. He will do almost anything to improve his game, anything from stretching to lifting weights to positive imagery to eye exercises. Yes, eye exercises.

Read More of Dwayne Roloson ...

U. S. Luge Team Selects the Vizual Edge Performance Trainer to Give Athletes Competitive Edge

U.S. Luge Team Exercises Their Eyes

by: United States Luge Association
www.usaluge.org (3/1/2006)

In 2002, the Vizual Edge Performance Trainer helped US sliding sports quadruple their medal count!

Read More of U.S. Luge Team Exercises Their Eyes...

Optometrist Bill Harrison shows Nationals trainer Tim Abraham an eye muscle test he gives to players

Optometrist helps hitters keep eye on ball

by: Scott Brown
Florida Today (3/16/2005)

What does this have to do with hitting a baseball, perhaps the hardest thing to do in all of sports? Everything, if you ask Washington Nationals interim general manager Jim Bowden.

"A baseball's coming in at 95 miles an hour and changing planes. Sometimes it's coming in at 76 miles as a curveball. Sometimes it's an 84-mile-per-hour slider," Bowden said. "All the different speeds, all the different locations, all the different rotations means your eyes have to be phenomenal so you can identify what the pitch is, where the pitch is going to be and whether to swing or not to swing."

Read More of Optometrist helps hitters keep eye on ball...

Improving your athletic performance by sitting in front of a computer?

Sports teams using optical program to boost 'visual fitness'

by: Stanley Miller
Milwaukee Journal Sentinal (2/3/2003)

"This is essentially a non-traditional method of performance enhancement," he said. "It takes an educational process to make people
understand."

Read More of Sports teams using optical program to boost 'visual fitness' ...

The Future of Baseball Lies within Sight

The Importance of Vision Training for Pitchers

by: John Pinkman
http://www.baseball-news.com/ (11/2/2002)

So, where does the future of baseball performance lie? Will it be in a greater trampoline effect off the bat or in more supple leather for the glove? Will new shoes create more speed? Will we train our bodies more efficiently without introducing artificial stimulants and steroids? Or will baseball travel into the future with greater human skills? Will we manage the mental and emotional stress of the game and travel? Will we tune peak performance through natural sports nutrition? Are we professional enough to see a healthy future and preserve the integrity of the game? How quickly will we “see” the obvious benefits of visual training?

Read More of The Importance of Vision Training for Pitchers...


Image 01